March 23rd, 2009

we can't teach what we don't know
  • uu_mom

Bills to cancel fees for developers during recession? Take action!

There was a hearing on last Wednesday, March 18, 2009 on legislation with the PZED Committee and with no doubt would have passed through without opposition. It has been tabled until Tuesday, March 24, 2009 at 1:30 pm. So if you believe that we should be getting fees from developers/development per the current law to help boost the county income, write to or call your legislator TODAY!

Community activists who attended Wed.'s hearing felt that this was another example of developers appealing to council people via campaign contributions and not for the good of the people.

The bills are both county and state. CB-07/08/CB-09-2009 in the county and HB Bill 921 EMERGENCY BILL Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 958 in the state.

PZED Committee Members:
Samuel H. Dean, Chair, SHDean@co.pg.md.us
Eric C. Olson, Vice Chair, EOlson@co.pg.md.us
Marilynn M. Bland, Chair of Council mmbland@co.pg.md.us
Thomas E. Dernoga (the only one who spoke against these bills)
Camille A. Exum, CAExum@co.pg.md.us
Tony Knotts, sponsors of CB-09-2005 and CB-09-2009, TKnotts@co.pg.md.us
Andrea Harrison, Present and on PZED Committee on 3/18/09, councildistrict5@co.pg.md.us

HB921 assigned to
Environmental Matters Committee
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, Chair Maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us
Delegate James E. Malone Jr., Vice Chair James.malone@house.state.md.us

SB958 assigned to Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee
Senator Joan Carter Conway, Chair Joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us
Senator Roy P. Dyson, Vice Chair Roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us

Spread the news!

See the latest Prince George's County blogger posts and news here.

Get email notices with the posts from this blog:

Enter your Email





Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz
we can't teach what we don't know
  • uu_mom

Support Senate Bill 447 & House Bill 1267

Get involved - protect our libertiesSWAT Raids Are Violating Our Civil Liberties | Make Maryland Great
Rather than reserving SWAT raids for unusually dangerous situations, many police forces are using these traumatizing tactics against people they suspect of recreational drug use and other much smaller crimes.

Write your legislators to support Senate Bill 447 & House Bill 1267 more info

Spread the news!

See the latest Prince George's County blogger posts and news here.

Get email notices with the posts from this blog:

Enter your Email





Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz